Program Directory

Governor's Awards for the Arts - 2009
Buy Play
The 2009 Governor's Awards for the Arts in Ohio were presented at a luncheon ceremony honoring winners and members of the Ohio Legislature. The ceremony, held in conjunction with Arts Day, was hosted by the Ohio Arts Council and Ohio Citizens for the Arts Foundation on Aptil 1, 2009 at noon at the Columbus Athenaeum in downtown Columbus. Winners received an original work of art by Ohio artist Jean Koeller.

The following individuals and organizations were honored:

- Arts Administration: Marc Folk, Toledo
- Arts Education: Dr. Corwin Georges, Springfield
- Arts Patron: Roe Green, Aurora
- Business Support of the Arts: Huntington Bank, Statewide
- Community Development & Participation: Cityfolk, Dayton
- Individual Artist: Derek Mortland & Michael Joseph Ulery, Sketches of the Inner World, Columbus & Sunbury
- Irma Lazarus Award: Willis "Bing" Davis, Dayton
- Irma Lazarus Award: The Honorable Patrick Sweeney, Cleveland
April 1, 2009